LinkedIn Intro integrates with your email, and we understand that this carries great responsibility. We respect the fact that your email may contain very personal or sensitive information, and we will do everything we can to make sure that it is safe..
Please note that this document may change from time to time, to clarify wording or to reflect new features in LinkedIn Intro. However, the following principles will not change:
LinkedIn Intro is an email service that helps you be brilliant with people.
When people email you, we show you their LinkedIn profile: you can put faces to names, write more effective emails, and establish rapport. You can grow your professional network by connecting with them on LinkedIn.
At the moment, LinkedIn Intro is available only for iPhone, but we are planning to support more platforms in future.
We've worked very hard to ensure that LinkedIn Intro works with Apple's Mail app. When you install LinkedIn Intro, we help you add a new Mail account to your iPhone. This new Mail account will show you exactly the same messages as your old Mail account, but it will also include LinkedIn Intro.
Once you've installed LinkedIn Intro, we recommend that you turn off your old Mail account. If you don't, you may see emails twice: once in each account. Turning off your old Mail account does not delete anything, and you can undo it at any time.
What's happening under the hood: without Intro, your Mail app connects directly to the servers of your email provider (e.g. Gmail or Yahoo!) to download messages. With Intro, your Mail app connects instead to the Intro servers, which fetch messages from your email provider and then pass them back to your Mail app. As the messages pass through the Intro servers, we add the social context that helps you be brilliant with people.
After you install Intro, your emails are passed through LinkedIn's servers, which are secured and monitored 24/7 to prevent any unauthorized access.
In order to provide the Intro service, the servers use software to extract information from each message: for example, the sender's email address is extracted, so that the servers can search for their LinkedIn profile to include in the message.
LinkedIn servers will temporarily cache information in order to provide you with the fastest service possible. Here are the full details:
All cached information is held securely to industry standards. Each piece of data is encrypted with a key that is unique to you and your device, and the servers themselves are secured and monitored 24/7 to prevent any unauthorized access.
LinkedIn Intro works by adding information to each email when it's downloaded to your iPhone. (Even though Intro looks as though it is part of the Mail app, the information about the sender is technically part of the message.) Intro never removes or changes the copy of the email stored on your server, so if you uninstall Intro everything will return to how it used to be.
When you send a new message with a Mail account that uses Intro, we append a small snippet of your LinkedIn public profile to the bottom of your message. This snippet functions as a great email signature, and it automatically updates itself when you edit your LinkedIn profile. You can learn more about LinkedIn Intro signatures, including how to turn them off, in our FAQs.
When you reply to or forward a message with a Mail account that uses Intro, we remove the original sender's profile information from your message. If, however, the 'From' email address is changed so that the message is sent through a Mail account which does not use Intro, then small amounts of the original sender's full profile information may remain hidden within the message. This information would not be visible to your recipient in their email client, but could be found within the raw source of the message.
For each of your emails, Intro tries to find the sender of the message on LinkedIn. If we find information, we include it at the top of the message, and you can tap to see more detail.
The profile you see in a message is what it was like at the time when your device downloaded the message. Unlike a web page, an email message is not refreshed once it has been downloaded. This means that the new profile will only show up on messages that are received after the profile was changed.
Due to technical limitations, certain changes may take up to 24 hours to take effect.
Some products track the contents of your emails in order to show you advertising. LinkedIn Intro does not do that.
If you communicate with somebody via LinkedIn Intro, it is a pretty good signal that you know them in a professional context. If you are not connected with the person on LinkedIn, we may later suggest them as a connection on the LinkedIn website and in our other mobile apps.
Lastly, Intro may send messages to LinkedIn servers about how the product is used. This information is only used in anonymously aggregated form so that we can learn a. what is great about the product, and b. what we need to improve. Your email behavior is never disclosed to any third party.
We will never sell, rent or give away private data about you or your contacts. Our business is in making you brilliant with people.
LinkedIn Intro keeps your identification strictly confidential: it cannot be used by other apps or websites.
To prevent your users from using LinkedIn Intro, please follow these instructions:
Please note: this will prevent your users from signing into all third party services, not just LinkedIn Intro.